Vegetarian Enchiladas (as inspired by my mama)! And an awesome salad.

So the other night we had insane weather, and a tornado hit our town (but not us). We had to sit in the bathtub with pillows and such, and frankly, I don’t do well in those situations. I did not grow up with tornadoes, so I don’t know what to expect, so I was shaky and scared! And we lost power for several hours. Fortunately we had leftover chocolate cake and plenty of candles and lemonade vodka.

Before the storm hit, we had a ring of safety around us!

No power 😦

Anyway, we survived. I talked to my mom and she said they recently had some awesome chicken enchiladas. With that in mind, I made vegetarian enchiladas the next night. Here’s my recipe, as inspired by my mama’s.

Vegetarian Enchiladas 

Prep Time |20 minutes
Bake Time |15-20 minutes

6 flour or corn tortillas (any kind you like)
1 bag Morningstar Farms Veggie Crumbles (or you can use lean ground beef)
1 can vegetarian refried beans
1/2 red onion, chopped
1 green pepper, chopped
1 can chopped green chiles.
1 packet burrito seasoning (optional for seasoning “meat”)
1 can enchilada sauce (also optional)
Shredded cheese for sprinkling
Condiments of your choosing (I used salsa and FF sour cream)

Preheat oven to 375.

1. Sautee onions and green pepper in a little olive oil until soft and fragrant. Put in a bowl.

2. Using same pan (which you have now rinsed and dried), heat up Veggie Crumbles and follow directions on packet for burrito seasoning.

3. Spread 6 tortillas on counter. Work your way through the ingredients, layering them in the middle of the tortillas: I did refried beans first, then cooked veggies, then meat, then chiles, then a little cheese.

4. Roll tortillas and place in a pyrex sprayed with cooking spray. Pour enough enchilada sauce so that most of the wraps are covered.

5. Sprinkle with cheese.

6. Cover with foil. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until hot.

Prepping the bad boys

MMMM

Meat on top!

They were super filling and tasty – so much so that I don’t think I got a picture of the finished product.

I forgot to mention a salad I made the other day that was fantasmic.

Birthday salade

This awesomeness was for Tim’s birthday lunch – local organic greens, organic red pears, goat cheese, cashews, and Drew’s balsamic vinaigrette, served with sparkling lemonade. Shoooo-eee! That was good.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Vegetarian Enchiladas (as inspired by my mama)! And an awesome salad.

  1. Morningstar makes the best products! These sound so good!

Leave a Reply

