First style post, smiles and frowns, meals, and other randomness

I have a bit of a clothes fetish. But I’m a grad student. So that means that I’m a poor person with a clothes fetish, which sucks. Fortunately, I live in nowheresville, USA, so there’s not much shopping around (until we move in the near future to a location that I have yet to announce). As a result, I do a lot of creative dressing so I don’t get tired of my clothes, and also, ANY time I go out of town I go shopping. We live near St Louis, kind of, so if I’m there, I shop. When I go home, I shop. When I go to New York, I shop. I really don’t believe in paying full-price for clothes except the occasional nice pair of pants or jeans or must-have-it dress. Anyway, I get a lot of comments on my outfits so I thought I’d share the occasional outfit. Here was a Monday basic:

Monday easy outfit

This is our guest bedroom/storage room, so please forgive the undecorated state of it. Anyway, this is a lazy day outfit for me –  gray t-shirt with woven sleeves from H&M (it’s hard to see the sleeves), forever 21 skinny jeans, wedges from Aldo, earrings from Tiffany, and headband from Anthropologie. I am sadly quite short which I never realize until I see pictures like that! 😦

Closeup of the Anthropologie Headband/uncurled hair/no makeup day!

Just add a scarf!

Given that I’m a singer, I add scarves to just about every outfit to keep my throat warm (sounds lame, but is necessary). It’s also just a nice way to square off an otherwise boring outfit like the one above. Okay moving on.

 

Peanut butter and honey bagel thin for breakfast

This morning was an easy breakfast morning, because I have to sit for my comprehensive exams in a couple hours. What this means is, essentially, everything I’ve learned in the past two years, my graduate committee can ask me about and I have two hours to write. The follow-up to this is oral exams on Friday when they can ask me anything else they want and I have an hour to talk. AY YI YI.

Yesterday was a throw-together lunch that was yummy in my tummy! Whole wheat wrap with Annie’s organic vegetarian refried beans and a little bit of weightwatchers shredded cheese:

MMMM beans and cheese

And a side of leftover fruit salad

Timothy was out of town Sunday night for some business schtuff and I missed him terribly! I was ready for him to come home and thought he was on the way when I sent him this text:

Waiting for Pump class to start and telling Timothy I'm ready for him to come HOME

But then his flight got cancelled a few hours later which resulted in this:

still sweaty in gym clothes and sadddd

To continue an entirely non-cohesive post, yesterday I got to school and needed a breath freshener and at a lack of gum, I found a mint halls cough drop. Check out the encouraging wrapper!

How positive!

To end this post, I’d like to pass on a couple things: first, something Julie from Peanut Butter Fingers posted today. It’s super positive and lovely:

Handbook to Life

Health:

1. Drink plenty of water.
2. Eat breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince, and dinner like a beggar.
3. Eat more foods that grow on trees and plants and eat less food that is manufactured in plants.
4. Live with the 3 E’s — Energy, Enthusiasm and Empathy.
5. Make time to pray.
6. Play more games.
7. Read more books.
8. Sit in silence for at least 10 minutes each day.
9. Sleep for 7 hours.
10. Take a 10-30 minute walk daily. And while you walk, smile.

Personality:

11. Don’t compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about.
12. Don’t have negative thoughts over things you cannot control. Instead, invest your energy in the positive present moment.
13. Don’t overdo. Keep your limits.
14. Don’t take yourself so seriously. No one else does.
15. Don’t waste your precious energy on gossip.
16. Dream more while you are awake.
17. Envy is a waste of time. Be grateful for what you have been given.
18. Make peace with your past so it won’t spoil the present.
19. Life is too short to waste time hating anyone.
20. No one is in charge of your happiness except you.
21. Realize that life is a school and you are here to learn. Problems are simply part of the curriculum that appear and fade away (like algebra class) but the lessons you learn will last a lifetime.
22. Smile and laugh more.
23. You don’t have to win every argument. Agree to disagree.

Society:

24. Call your family often.
25. Each day give something good to others.
26. Forgive.
27. Spend time with people over the age of 70 & under the age of 6.
28. Try to make at least three people smile each day.
29. What other people think of you is none of your business.
30. Your job won’t take care of you when you are sick. Your friends will. Stay in touch.

Life:

31. Do the right thing!
32. Get rid of anything that isn’t useful, beautiful or joyful.
33. God heals everything.
34. However good or bad a situation is, it will change.
35. No matter how you feel, get up, dress up and show up.
36. The best is yet to come.
37. When you awake alive in the morning, thank God for it.
38. Your inner most is always happy. So, be happy.

The last thing I’ll leave you with is a TED talk I watched this morning about how active compassion could bring world peace, as a Google employee philosophizes. Have a GREAT day!
http://video.ted.com/assets/player/swf/EmbedPlayer.swf

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “First style post, smiles and frowns, meals, and other randomness

  1. Girl, you are soo cute! I love your scarf! And I love the Handbook To Life, amazing!

Leave a Reply

