Last night’s lazy black bean soup

Last night, Tim and I got home to Illinois after a whirlwind spring break trip to Florida. After about 14 hours of travel, we were exhausted, but so tired of prepared food from restaurants and fast food. Vacationing with kids is hard on the diet – let me tell you! Ice cream, peanut butter and jellies, chips… things we don’t really buy or eat! I’m sure I gained a couple pounds even though I ran a couple miles on the beach a few times.

Having just come from the Miami airport, we were craving something exotic and spicy, so I suggested black bean soup and rice. We were going to just buy the cans of Amy’s Organic Black Bean Soup (which I love), but our grocery store didn’t have it, so I just made it – super easy, super fast! Here’s how.

This picture is from Gina's Skinny Recipes!

Prep time | 10 minutes
Cook time | 20 minutes or so

Ingredients for the soup:
2 cans black beans, don’t drain
16 oz. fat free chicken or veggie stock
1 c salsa with chunky veggies (I like it hot!)
1 tbsp chili pepper
Garnishes:
4 servings cooked white rice
low-fat sour cream (optional)
grated cheddar cheese (optional)
fresh cilantro, chopped (optional)

 

Okay – so the soup part of this is ridiculously easy! I cooked the rice after the soup was past creation stage, and I was just letting it cook for awhile. Timed out nicely.

1. Dump the beans, UNDRAINED, into a stockpot on a burner set to medium-high heat.

2. With a potato masher, mash the beans until pummeled but some whole beans still remain. (Note: I prefer the potato masher to the food processor because I think it’s heartier to have some whole beans in there – however, should you like it less chunky, food process to your heart’s content.)

3. Dump in the stock and salsa and chili pepper. Stir.

4. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to a lively simmer. Cook until thickened. If it isn’t thick enough for you, add more salsa, more beans, or just let it sit awhile off the burner – mine thickened nicely. In the meantime, cook the rice if you haven’t already.

Serve over rice, with desired garnishes. Tim brought out the tortilla chips so I had a couple with the soup – it was great! Hot sauce was also a lovely addition.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

